The Bloated Pig - A Place for Weary Flingers Page 2252
  • 159870 Comments
  • @Annifrid, congrats on passing the test on the first try! @Kelani doesn't know this but in other countries passing the driving test is not a cinch like here in USA. I got my driver's license 30 years ago and it took me at least 10 tries, IIRC. Not because I was a bad driver -- some folks would not pass in 20-30 tries. But they were jerks at that time and fail you for any miniscule "error". Sometimes you could be even perfect but they'd fail you anyway, just to get your money for the test again. I hope that's changed nowadays but I'm sure they're still way stricter than here in US.
  • @fenikus they charged you for the test? wow.

edit: I saw that edit. Here, the thing that makes most people fail is the three-point turn. If you didn't turn and look behind exactly how they told you, they'd end the test right there.
  • @kelani, I thought they charged here as well. Granted, I took my US driving test 20-something years ago. At that time, the driving test seemed like a formality and you just had to study for the "written" portion of it. But, I don't know how it was for you young whippersnappers ;-)
  • @fenikus In a way, I guess they do. You get charged for getting your permit or license, but if you fail the test, there's no fee. And if you renew your license before it expires, you pay the same fee, but there's no driving test.

edit: when I did it, drivers ed was provided by high school. So it was free. Nowadays, I think for-profit companies handle that here.
  • @Kelani That's more like my sister's way of getting stuff :) The current #1 on my wish list in an iPad anyway.

BTW they charge for the tests over here. I paid (read: my mom paid) ~$30, and would have to pay ~$20 for every additional try.