Farewell, flingers…

Home Forums Angry Birds 2 Forum Farewell, flingers…

• My story:

I began as a devout player on the original Angry Birds years ago. It was immense fun. I moved on the the later incarnations and played them all. The day AB2 was released I started playing it as well. It was insane fun that I could enjoy for hours at a time. I even paid for a few of the update packs and enjoyed those too. I purchased one of Rovio’s ‘advantage packs’, the one that would give more treasure chests so I could build up my bird/spell backup.

A few years ago I noticed the fun starting to wane in favour of in-game purchases. I also noticed the game being tweaked in small, innocuous ways. The treasure chest pack I bought and paid for was secretly narfed with no warning whatsoever, even though I paid for it.

Soon, I started noticing birds doing less damage, structures not collapsing when they did before, screens changing to add more to knock down, game dynamics changing… the list goes on. At one point watching ads for bonuses was an option. Now they are shoved in the player’s face and happen pretty much on every screen transition. (I happen to know that in the world of paid marketing, every time a user watches an ad Rovio gets a $$.00 kickback (Adchoices agreement) ). This means Rovio gets paid by using your bandwidth, and in exchange they give you an intangible token, and pocket real money. Apparently the other Rovio games were following suit.