The Bloated Pig - A Place for Weary Flingers Page 2326
  • 159901 Comments
  • @Kelani Roboform claims to not store any data on their servers, but that is total bunk. They say they do not store the Master Password, but they store the "key" to it. If that key gets broken, the Master Password is no good. There is some other scary stuff I am just learning about using Roboform on mobile devices. If the device is stolen, Roboform can be cracked in minutes. It is demonstrated on YouTube.

The more I learn about using mobile devices for web surfing, the more nervous I get. From now on, I will do the majority of my sensitive web browsing on my MacBook, using Chrome browser (with security extension HTTPS Everywhere).
  • @BPC Sounds like you have a lot of sites to consider. Compartmentalization is a great way to do it. :)

Heh, at my old job, first of every month, we had to create and memorize two different 40-character passwords. They had to contain alphanumerics, punctuation, capitals and alt+xxxx ascii symbols, and no character could be used more than once. Writing them down, speaking them, or typing them anywhere other than the password entry field meant instant termination and criminal charges. :)
  • @Kelani, you're making my brain hurt even more than it already does :)
  • deleted post by me :)
  • Let me try that link again (For Roboform users)

http://youtu.be/YL4yQRw69oo
  • @BPC The idea behind the security key is sound, but developers of password managers are limited in that they focus only on the most common intrusion methods. Their software may stop 98% of data thieves, but they just don't have the resources or skills to stay ahead of that elite & pesky 2%.

I used Roboform on Firefox, and that made me even more uneasy. I used to contribute to Firefox development, and there were dozens of vulnerabilities popping up every day that never got addressed.